When someone leaves your business, you might be so wrapped up in the rush of everyday tasks, you forget to delete their login details.
Or maybe they’ve created Gmail or social media accounts with your company name that you don’t even know about.
Old, unused login details could be a ticking time bomb for security breaches, leaving the doors wide open to cyber criminals. It can also be an unnecessary drain on your budget if you’re paying for old subscriptions you no longer need.
A recent report found that almost half of businesses had accounts that were no longer actively managed. If you’ve forgotten about an account, you’re not monitoring it. And this leaves your business vulnerable to attacks.
These risks aren’t just hypothetical, either. Many cloud security breaches happen because unused login details and accounts have been compromised.